City of Cape Coral
1015 Cultural Park Boulevard
Cape Coral, FL 33990
(239) 574-0401



You are here Home  Government  City Government  City Council

City Council

City of Cape Coral Form of Government
The Mayor and Council govern by adhering to the articles of the City’s Charter, which is similar to a constitution.  The City’s form of government, Council-Manager, is described in the Charter. With this form of government, the Mayor and Council appoint a City Manager who serves as the chief administrative officer of the City.

The City Manager supervises, directs, and coordinates the various departments throughout City Hall. The manager prepares the budget for the Council’s consideration and makes reports and recommendations to the City Council. (Article 5.03)

The residents of the City of Cape Coral elect a Mayor and seven Council Members.  Council members qualify in their respective districts but are elected at large. The elected members must reside in their district and have been continuous full-time residents of the city for the entire calendar year immediately preceding their qualification for office. All elections are non-partisan.  Terms are four years in length, and members are limited to two consecutive terms. (Article 4)

City Council meetings are held on Mondays at 4:30 p.m. in Council Chambers; unless otherwise indicated on their schedule. If the meeting falls on a Monday holiday, no meeting shall be held that week unless previously approved by the Council.  

The meetings are broadcast live on CapeTV, which is videostreamed on the City website.  To access CapeTV, click here.

Click here for the Mayor's Page
Click to view City Council District Map
District Council Members
 

District 1:  John Gunter Email:  jgunter@capecoral.net |  View District Map

Carioscia  webCarioscia  webJohn Carioscia   web District 2John Carioscia
Emailjcarioscia@capecoral.net  |  View District Map
Stout2 District 3Marilyn Stout 
Email: mstout@capecoral.net  |  View District Map
  District 4: Jennifer I. Nelson
Email: jinelson@capecoral.net  |  View District Map 


  District 5Dave Stokes
Email: dstokes@capecoral.net  |  View District Map
Williams District 6Rick Williams 
Emailrwilliam@capecoral.net  |  View District Map
Cosden2 District 7: Jessica Cosden
Emailjcosden@capecoral.net  |  View District Map